Weather-Related Disclaimer: missives from legislators concerning road conditions, although timely and important, should be considered snapspots in time. For the most recent travel information, please consult MoDOT's Web site at

except when the post starts "MO Expat", all content published on Missives from Missouri is written and supplied by the noted legislator. Said missives will not necessarily reflect the views of Kyle Hill, the operator of Missives from Missouri, and as such the operator does not assume responsibility for its content. More information
Share this missive:

13 December 2011

Stouffer: New Boundaries Have Been Drawn for State Senate and House Districts

The results of the 2010 census have become reality, as new boundaries have taken effect for Missouri’s 34 senators and 163 representatives. Now, Missourians know more about who will be representing them in Jefferson City at the end of 2012.

These newly drawn districts actually will not become reality until individuals are elected to serve those new legislative districts in the November 2012 elections. However, senators serve staggered terms, so those with even-numbered districts will not be up for re-election next cycle.

In the case of the 21st Senatorial District, some shuffling did take place. As this is my final term in the Missouri Senate, we already knew every county in our area would be represented by a new senator in 2013.

Macon, Ray and the portion of Clay County in our district will all be moved into even-numbered districts. This means they will be represented by incumbent senators, if they decide to finish their full four-year term. Macon will be represented by Sen. Brian Munzlinger. Ray and Clay’s portion of our current area will be represented by Sen. Brad Lager. In addition, Howard will be paired with Boone County. Livingston, Pettis and part of Johnson will be added to our area. Meanwhile, Carroll, Chariton, Saline and all of Lafayette County except for Odessa and the area north of that community will remain in the 21st District. That makes seven counties for the new district, total.

The judges released an earlier version of the senate map that kept all of Lafayette County intact. The second map came after the original had already been finalized. Many wonder if it is legal for the new map to be used when the original had already been sent on to the Secretary of State.

The changes to the maps for the House are much more significant: All of Macon County was added to extreme eastern portion of Linn County, including Bucklin and part of Marceline, and the northern half of Randolph, including Moberly, to comprise the new House District 6. The Lawson area was placed with Clinton and Caldwell counties in the new House District 8. Kearney goes west and pairs with Smithville in the new House District 12. Excelsior Springs will be in the new House District 38 in Clay County towards Liberty.

Carroll, Ray and Chariton counties will make up a new House district as well. However, Lawson and the southern portion of Chariton County, including Brunswick, will be elsewhere. The new House District 39 will include cities like Richmond, Carrollton, Salisbury and Keytesville.

A small sliver of Cooper County east of Boonville and running along the Missouri River towards Wooldridge was added to the Boone, Howard and Randolph County House District 47, which is centered in Harrisburg. Other towns include Higbee, Rocheport and several residents living near Columbia.

The most significant and confusing district may be House District 48, which includes parts of six counties: Randolph, Howard, Cooper, Pettis, Saline and Chariton. This Booneslick area district will include the communities of Brunswick, Armstrong, Slater, Glasgow, Fayette, Arrow Rock, Nelson, Blackwater, New Franklin, Boonville, Pilot Grove, Otterville and Smithton.

Eastern Cooper County was partnered with Northern Moniteau and Cole, as well as the southern half of Boone. This House District 50 will include the communities of Prairie Home, Jamestown, California, Ashland and Columbia area residents living roughly south of I-70.

Marshall and the western half of Saline County all the way to the northwest portion of Pettis moving toward a portion of Warrensburg in Johnson County will encompass the new House District 51. Other communities included in this district include Hughesville, Houstonia and Malta Bend.

All of Lafayette County will be in the new House District 53, with small portions of Jackson and Johnson counties.

I remain committed to serving the folks in the 21st Senatorial District, as our next legislative session begins in January. Rest assured, I will be fighting for you in the coming year.

Click here to see the Senate redistricting plan.
Click here to see the House plan.

No comments:

Post a Comment