Weather-Related Disclaimer: missives from legislators concerning road conditions, although timely and important, should be considered snapspots in time. For the most recent travel information, please consult MoDOT's Web site at

except when the post starts "MO Expat", all content published on Missives from Missouri is written and supplied by the noted legislator. Said missives will not necessarily reflect the views of Kyle Hill, the operator of Missives from Missouri, and as such the operator does not assume responsibility for its content. More information
Share this missive:

16 August 2011

Mayer: Several Members Appointed to New Joint Interim Committee

Panel Created to Examine Court Decisions Regarding School Accreditation

JEFFERSON CITY – Missouri Senate Leader Robert N. Mayer, R-Dexter, recently named six members of the upper chamber to serve on the Joint Interim Committee on School Accreditation. The committee is charged with examining the potential impact of court decisions related to school accreditation on local school districts.

“Two court decisions have come down in the past year determining students in non-accredited school districts have the right to attend an accredited school district,” said Sen. Mayer. “Every student should have an equal opportunity for a world-class education. Based on these recent court decisions, it is important this committee understand these students' options and the impact their families' decisions will have on both the non-accredited districts as well as neighboring accredited districts.”

Members serving from the Senate include Sen. Jane Cunningham (co-chair), R-Chesterfield; Sen. David Pearce, R-Warrensburg; Sen. Bill Stouffer, R-Napton; Sen. Brian Nieves, R-Washington; Sen. Maria Chappelle-Nadal, D-St. Louis; and Sen. Shalonn “Kiki” Curls, D-Kansas City.

Rep. Scott Dieckhaus, R-Washington, will co-chair the committee with Sen. Cunningham. The other five House members serving on the panel have yet to be announced.

Future committee hearing information will be posted on the Senate hearing schedule on the Missouri Senate website (

No comments:

Post a Comment