Weather-Related Disclaimer: missives from legislators concerning road conditions, although timely and important, should be considered snapspots in time. For the most recent travel information, please consult MoDOT's Web site at

except when the post starts "MO Expat", all content published on Missives from Missouri is written and supplied by the noted legislator. Said missives will not necessarily reflect the views of Kyle Hill, the operator of Missives from Missouri, and as such the operator does not assume responsibility for its content. More information
Share this missive:

07 December 2011

Kraus: Senate District 8 Redrawn

After the 2012 general election, the boundaries of the state Senate District 8 will change, due to modifications in the state’s population according to the latest census. It may mean a change in who represents you in the Missouri Senate.

District 8 will still encompass Blue Springs, Buckner, Grain Valley, Greenwood, Lake Tapawingo, Lee’s Summit, and Levasy. I look forward to continuing to serve these great cities. Unfortunately, District 8 will no longer contain Independence, Lake Lotawana, Lone Jack, Oak Grove or Sibley. The 8th Senatorial District is the third largest district with regards to population; therefore, I will lose representation of about 30,000 people. I have enjoyed serving these areas and greatly regret that I will no longer be their senator.

The Missouri Constitution calls for 34 Senate districts. It also requires that the lines be drawn to create districts that are almost equal in population. The population of District 8 has grown greatly over the last 10 years, and, therefore, some of this population needed to be redistributed to other districts. It says a lot about eastern Jackson County that people want to move and remain here; it is a great place to live and raise a family.

Earlier this year, the job of redrawing the state’s 34 Senate districts and 163 House districts was assigned to two bipartisan commissions appointed by the governor. However, since the commissions failed to agree, the responsibility of state legislative redistricting was placed in the judicial system. Released on Nov. 30, the maps were drawn by a six-member panel of Court of Appeals judges, called the Appellate Apportionment Commission.

For an interactive map of the new and old district lines, click here. By using the “more” button, the map allows you to decide what information is contained on the map that you see. You can also zoom in and out to enlarge or minimize the area that you see on one screen. The map below, taken from this website, shows the basic outline of the new district.

In addition, you can always go to the Senate Home page,, and use the Legislator Look-Up section on the lower left to determine who currently represents you. You will need your entire nine digit zip code. It is a useful tool that is easy to use.

These newly-drawn maps can be confusing. It will take some time to adjust and re-learn new boundaries, names of elected officials, office phone numbers, and other pertinent information. Please rest assured that the 8th District office and its members will do their very best to help with the transition and to answer any questions you might have.

No comments:

Post a Comment